And now, the end is near, and so we’ll face the final curtain. For some it is the final one at this school. Many people are leaving with a heavy heart, despondent and leaden with regrets. Regrets that they could not tell this school how much they love it, how much they’ll miss it, and how much they treasure it. Some of these people who are leaving are teachers. Teachers who have spent hours working with us, guiding us, and helping us improve; leaving some us wondering “Tell me how am supposed to learn without you? Now that I’ve been learnin’ from you so long. How am I supposed to carry on?”. This is a series of interviews on teachers who are leaving; teachers who want to say good luck and goodbye.

I know this is sad, because I could hardly believe it, when I heard the news today. I had to run and get it straight from them. People said they were leaving, somewhere far far away, and from the look upon their faces, I see its true. So tell me all about it, tell me about the plans they’re making; tell me one last thing before they go…

Dr. Kim

What at Utahloy was the:

Happiest moment: I enjoyed working with my grade 8 Spanish class, they had never done Spanish before and I am pleased with their progress.

Saddest moment: When I meet students who don’t care about education and thinks teachers are enemies. Its a waste of potential.

Most frustrating: Frustrating to see disregard the English environment. Uncomfortable with telling students to not speak their mother tongue.

Most memorable: Seeing the lake. Its a beautiful school with a great environment.

Where will you be going?

I will be going to Mexico, head of humanities in Monterrey

What will you miss most?

My apartment which has three bedrooms and four balconies. And I am the EAL coordinator in this school, and I will miss this job

What do you hope Utahloy will improve upon?
As you should know, our school has a open admission policy, where any person can enter this school at any (English) level and at anytime. People come towards the end of the year who cannot speak English and it creates many problems. This is not a bad thing though as long we can help these students, and therefore we need more EAL support.

What do you hope Utahloy will continue doing?

Making improvements to the system. One thing that this school has done will this year is pulling Phase 3 students from design and third languages and providing more EAL support for them.

What vision do you have for Utahloy?

Its already a great school; but we can make it even better by improving the quality of it. How to improve quality

  1. Through a culture of English speaking
  2. Reinforcing a culture of academic excellence, as there are too many students who are not being serious enough. An example of  good motivated student this school should have is Isaac, in Year 9.

What advice do you have for students?
Well as I have said before, speak more English (especially Koreans)! And keep trying hard. Don’t stop.

 

Ms Johnson

What at Utahloy was the:

Happiest moment: I’ve enjoyed camp a lot as it  breaks down the walls between students and teachers. One thing I enjoyed was expressive dance with Year 9s in my first year

Saddest moment: Saying goodbye to people who leave.

Most frustrating: Getting to grips with the MYP criterion, dealing with the MYP and understanding the MYP rationale. Also I don’t like dealing with buses and their weird routes.

Weirdest moment: Preforming (singing and dancing at the Beijing Opera) at the CNY dinner.

Most memorable: When some of her year 10’s performed an Arianna Grande song to commemorate those who died at the Manchester Bombing, as the Manchester bombing was on my birthday and Manchester is my hometown. It is undoubtedly the worst birthday I have had.

What at Guangzhou was the:

Happiest moment: Watching Ratatat live with other teachers such as Mr Meachen, Mr Fairhall, Mr Thorogood.

Saddest moment: I had to pin my son down while people pulled his teeth out after he bumped his teeth up into his jaw. I still remember the exact minute which he broke his teeth.

Most frustrating: Not knowing what to do when my son bumped his teeth up. But that was one of my happiest moments as well as I found lots of help from my colleagues. At that time I was very grateful.

Weirdest moment: My friends (Mrs Webb and a few others) and I went on a yoga trip. On the way there we had to argue with train security because they wanted to confiscate the yoga mats because yoga mats are dangerous. We then had to smuggle the mats onto the train.

What is the best part of Utahloy

The staff that it attracts and the staff that they are there. And the students that give their all to everything they do.

Where will you be going?

Nexus International school in Kuala Lumpa, Malaysia as a Careers and Higher Education Coordinator and History Teacher

What will you miss most in Utahloy?

My friends.

What will you miss most about Guangzhou?

Taobao. Without a shred of doubt, Taobao. I am the Queen of Taobao, in the three years I’ve been using Taobao, I have a five-star account.

What do you hope Utahloy will improve upon?
EAL provision for DP

What do you hope Utahloy will continue doing?
Managing to employ enthusiastic staff that make a great community.

What do you hope Utahloy will do?

Splitting Humanities into History and Geography at Year 9 and 10

What was the best thing you heard a student say?

“There are no stars in China”

“Someone important from someone in China” referring to Chairman Mao

“Women suffered more from cholera than men because they have long hair and cry a lot”

“The DP is the Treaty of Versailles”

What was the best project you were ever handed?

It was not a project handed to me, but the best one I have seen. Henry Xue, his PP on Teen suicide.

 

Mr McDonald

What at Utahloy was the:

Happiest moment: Good question, I s’pose the freedom to teach in the way that I like. I like to teach in my way in my own style, and do my own thing. The syllabus is not too rigid.

Saddest moment: When students that you’ve come to appreciate leave. For example I’m half way through my year 11 diploma class and I won’t be able to see them when they finish. I would like to see what score they get, and its really quite sad.

Most frustrating: The students have too much freedom, their attitude is too relaxed. I know we now have uniform, but students can walk around with their phones and earplugs. Not all students do this but I do know some who would abuse this privilege.

Weirdest moment: Every time my colleagues get dressed up. More teachers than students dress up as stupid characters.

Most memorable: Whenever I see my students succeed; I like to see them acquire their diploma.

Where will you be going?

I’ll be retiring to Bermuda; I might pick up golf there.

What will you miss most?

I live in Zhujiang, I love the architecture there like the library and the opera house.

What do you hope Utahloy will improve upon?

Organisation. The evacuations. The administration should improve upon this. Improve upon the smart boards and the Internet. And there should be better use for the MFH.

What do you hope Utahloy will continue doing?
Creating successful students, academic success. To keep UISG as the best school in guangzhou, and we have been for the last 5 years.

What advice do you have for students?

Work hard.

What vision do you have for Utahloy?

That it survives. There are more competition, more schools. I’m not sure Uthaloy will survive but I do hope for the sake of the students.

 

Ms Hodge

What at Utahloy was the:

Happiest moment: Seeing Peter’s poems and drawings

Saddest moment: Cancellation of sports day of 2018

Most frustrating: I don’t really get annoyed or frustrated.

Weirdest moment: Mr Sims life skill lessons. Oh you know, the intimate part of social relationships.

Memorable: The one thing I will never forget is Festival of Light

What about GZ is unique?

The flower markets and the Pearl River, and the dragon boat culture. I love how people train for just the one competition. And I love the Lion Dancing.

What about the food?

I love simple things, I prefer the beans and rice. The spices are very distracting but very tasty.

Where will you be going?

Warwick University, studying education, doing my Masters degree.

What part of Utahloy do you wish you can take with you?

The Chinese music, something from the arts and music program. Something of the IB, the PYP and the MYP, I love all of that

But not the DP?

I mean I like it its just doesn’t sing to my heart.

What do you hope Utahloy will improve upon?

A bit more intelligent with its energy and lighting. Have more solar energy and fountains.

What do you hope Utahloy will continue doing?
I hope it continues growing like as if it is a person, I hope it continues internationalising. And making connections with people that have left. I believe that Mr Batchelor is in charge of keeping the contacts of alumni.

What vision do you have for Utahloy?
I imagine that social media will help people connect, maybe in a trivial may or maybe in a more profound way. So that the people will be stay connected though the alumni association.

What is your favourite holiday?

I really liked the Dali camp, I would say the HK camp but it was hot. I like it because of the lake, the Jade Belt Walk, and we did Tai-chi

What event do you think should be brought to the forefront more?

African events, I think we need to think more about Africa and rid ourselves of the stereotypes and deepen the connection.

Your opinions on costumes?

I loved the Queen of hearts costume, it was big and extravagant and fun.

 

Ms Jo BT

What are some traditions or superstitions you have for the First Day of School as a teacher?

I really never eat food on my first day in a school, because you are never quite sure in the canteen what the food is going to be like. I tend to that for a week or two before I eat the food from the canteen.

What makes a ‘good day’ at school?

When students are really engaged, laughing, and having fun. I like really active lessons and like it when the kids are all integrating with each other across year groups, which happens a lot in Utahloy which I like.

What is your favorite dish from the cafeteria?

Favorite thing is probably ordering a sandwich.

What sort of morning routine do you have to get jazzed for class, is coffee your go to?

I don’t drink coffee at all, I drank so much coffee when I took my A-level exams that I came out from my exams with shakes, and I have never been able to drink coffee since. I do drink a lot of tea and drink a lot of diet coke.

What inspires you?

I didn’t go into teaching until later in my life, originally I was a lawyer, and then I decided that I wanted to go back to the same kind of community I grown up in, and I have grown up in an expat international school, and I want my children to have that opportunity as well. The best way to do that was to become a teacher, and I started of teaching law, and then various subjects in humanities and actually loved it and is the best move I ever made.

What’s the best/worst thing about being a teacher?

My favorite part is watching students graduate and go off to university. The worst thing for me is seeing a student who is really trying hard but is still struggling with the DP and it’s really tough because you try so many different strategies but sometimes it’s just too hard for students, which is really hard to swallow because we want them all to just do exceptionally well.

In which other teacher’s class would you like to enroll, even for a day? 

Possibly mister Kennedy’s, because doing some drama could be some fun.

What at Utahloy was the most memorable thing?

My favorite thing every year besides the graduation is skills week; the MasterChef challenge, building rafts, and I hope that it continues.

Where will you be going?

Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates.

What will you miss most?

I will miss most the students and probably Mrs. Johnson because she is my best friend.

 

Mr Vickery

Where are you planning to move on to? 

Back to England for the summer and to Milan, Italy in the end of August.

Jordan’s note: by the way Milan is the Fashion Capital of the World, which is definitely a suitable city for Mr Vickery to live in since he’s so fashionable!

What was your favourite moment at this school?

Probably… Utahloys Got Talent. Its great to see students that normally don’t get involved with school music ensembles join as bands and dance groups.

What was something you found the most interesting living in China?

Many, many, many. The Chinese culture is really different to the English culture, and we’ve been in China for 6 years (3 in Beijing, 3 here) it has been an ‘eyeopener’ for us to the culture of the world. We’ve also got use to how things work in China and will probably miss it here. It was very unusual when we first arrived, but we’ve sort of understood the culture now.

How would you bring your double bass to Milan?

Shipment. The shipment is costing quite a lot, mainly because of the double bass.

What did you find difficult living in China?

The Language… I failed… luckily my wife has been my Personal Translator.

What will happen to your band if you’re leaving?

Someone will replace me… 😦

What do you love most about this school?

The staff are great… “and the students”. Their effort on many parts of the school.

What do you want to school to improve on?

More involvement in events and ensembles.

Will you be bringing your singing warm ups to the next school?

Yep. They travel with me everywhere.

What is the most amazing performance you have seen at this school?

All performances in the Utahloy’s Got Talent and the Whole School Orchestra performing in the graduation the past few years.

Jordan’s note: This is the part where you’re supposed to compliment me

 

Mrs Dempsey 

What was your role in Utahloy?

English Language Acquisition Teacher -Phase 1&2

Service as Action Coordinator – Years 9 & 10

Dragon House Leader

How long have you been working in Utahloy?

3 years

What was your dream goal when growing up?

To be a teacher

What are your favorite activities or hobbies outside of work?

Cooking, reading, watching tv, swimming, spending time with friends

What is your favorite movie to watch over and over again?

Auntie Mame

What at Utahloy was the:

Happiest – Dragon House winning last year for Secondary ☺

Saddest – Colleagues leaving

Most Frustrating – TIC! There is not only one 😉

What will you miss most?

The students, especially the current 10s & 11s

What do you hope Utahloy will improve upon?

Teaching & Learning, Celebrating student achievements more

What do you hope Utahloy will continue doing?

Improving.

What will you continue doing? 

Teaching, learning, problem solving

What have you learned from your experience living and working in China?

Mandarin is not an easy language to learn

If you’re leaving Guangzhou, what are you going to miss from this city? 

Hot Pot nights with my friends

In your next destination, what are you looking forward to?

I am looking forward to being back in the Middle East and reconnecting with good friends I have living there. I am looking forward to helping my new school grow and develop as they begin a new secondary program.

What is one life-advice you’re always willing to give?

Especially to students, other staff members, and parents. (: Just breathe – in and out. Everything will be okay; you will do your best and that is all you can do – and that will be good enough

What’s one thing you’ve been amazed by while working in Utahloy?

It can be about the community or certain events at school.

In the truest sense of the word “amaze,” I am amazed by the students, and I’ve told my students this many times. In spite of all the obstacles and hurdles that a non-native English speaker faces in an English academic setting – in spite of having a limited vocabulary for the academics – these students achieve and they achieve high!

These students at Utahloy amaze me every day!

 

Mr Sangster 

What was your role in Utahloy? 

IB MYP Coordinator and Year 7 & 10 MYP English Language Acquisition teacher.

How long have you been working in Utahloy? 

This is my third year.

What was your dream goal when growing up? 

To live and work in many countries around the world–the next will be the seventh country (not counting the U.S., where I am from originally).

What are your favorite activities or hobbies outside of work?

Running, biking, and hiking, but I don’t do as much of these as I would like in Guangzhou.

What is your favorite movie to watch over and over again? 

None–I like to watch movies I’ve never seen before.

What at Utahloy was the: Happiest, Saddest, Most frustrating, Weirdest, Creepiest moment? 

Difficult question–(Most frustrating): Basically, not having enough time to do everything I’ve tried to do to help our school improve.

What will you miss most? 

This one is impossible to answer.

What do you hope Utahloy will improve upon? 

Recognizing and rewarding teachers and other staff members for their hard work.

What do you hope Utahloy will continue doing? 

Recognizing and rewarding students for their hard work.

What will you continue doing? 

Caring about my family and work (in that order).

What have you learned from your experience living and working in China?

That’s it’s not healthy to try and do everything all at once–everyone needs to take time to relax from time to time. Work is not the most important thing in life.

If you’re leaving Guangzhou, what are you going to miss from this city? 

Views of the downtown Guangzhou skyscrapers at night.

In your next destination, what are you looking forward to? 

We’re moving to Austria, in Europe, so… more open space, quiet, clean streets, and fresh air.

What is one life-advice you’re always willing to give? 

Especially to students, other staff members, and parents. (: Do your best, enjoy life, and don’t be afraid to make mistakes.

What’s one thing you’ve been amazed by while working in Utahloy?

It can be about the community or certain events at school. Parents and students really seem to love UISG.

So this is the end. While this is a sad moment, remember that we had joy, we had fun, we had seasons in the sun. And even if we are never to cross paths again, I am certain the memories and lessons that the teachers taught us can carry us forward in life. As a student I would like to thank these teachers. Thank you for your participation and cooperation with this event of the Howl; but above all, thank you for your devotion to this school.

 

Interviewed by Isaac Ip, Jeet Madnani, Jordan Lau, and Audrienne Ow

Written by Isaac Ip

Edited By Isaac Up

One response to “A Farewell to Teachers”

  1. David Pollicutt Avatar
    David Pollicutt

    Ah, memories. Good ol’ Dr. Kim

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending